A New Challenge … here we go!

How does one obtain freedom?  Well, for many, I think freedom equates to financial independence, right?  Money does not cure all problems, but it certainly helps.  For those who have financial means can either say “nope sorry, not doing that (bluntly, go F yourself, I’m not doing S),” or “yeah, that sounds good but on my terms.”  Those without, are constantly at the mercy of others, and to a point have to be a yes man or woman.

I am testing something new these days.  My car has recently died.  As I started to consider my options, like do I buy another used car for cash thereby being a slave to repair job after repair job, do I lease something, thereby being a slave to a monthly cost, or do I maybe look at another way???

I’ve decided to look at another option … public transit.  This option is a bit of a challenge for a suburbanite like myself but I’ll be darned if I am not willing to give it a try.  To my amazement, I have found that if you challenge yourself to something, you can be quite creative.  Suddenly, things that were not an option at one point, become a distinct possibility.

I started this new process on Tuesday, June 9, 2015.  This decision coincided with a decision I have been mulling for years and gave myself a deadline of June 30 to make.  That decision was to run my first marathon.

Thinking differently has forced me to start my training, a process that, quite frankly, I began thinking was not possible because my time is so limited (heck, I can’t even find 30 minutes a day to write anymore!!!).  Turns out, God has given me a sign that I can do it.

I have decided to listen; hence, the new challenge of which I am about to embark …

FBF

Leave a Reply

