Edit, Edit, Edit – I Love the Fall REDO!

My Editor in Chief (EIC as I call her!) saw my poem yesterday and sent me some edits.  She said with these edits, “I would have a delightful poem.”  So here is the revised version with the EIC’s edits:

I love the fall. Don’t you?

Something about the orange-yellows, bronze hues.

Make me laugh, make me smile

Make me feel warm and cozy like a child.

The sounds of geese and the smoky smells in the air

Make me long for a time that I dare not compare.

Time passes so quickly these days.

I almost feel I am in a perpetual fall daze.

I will take fall and whatever it brings you see,

For ‘tis the season that best suite me!

FBF

Below is the original for your reference.  That way, you can see the improvement.  I like the above much better.  Makes you realize the importance of having an editor for we writers are blinded by our work and can only take it so far.   Consider all the greats, they all had amazing editors behind them.  For like husbands who without a good woman behind them would be incomplete, so too is a good writer incomplete without a good editor behind them fixing and perfecting their work!

ORIGINAL POSTED 11/9/14):

Sitting at my table looking at the scenery and felt inspired to write a quick poem:

I love the fall, Don’t you?

Something about the orange-yellow, bronze hue

Makes me laugh, Makes me smile

Makes me feel warm and cozy like a child.

The sounds of geese and the smoky smells in the air

Makes me long for a time that I dare not compare.

Time comes so quickly these days.

I almost feel I am in a perpetual fall daze.

I will take it and whatever it brings you see,

For fall is the season that best suits me!

 

Short and sweet, please feel free to add to it if you like.

FBF

 

Leave a Reply

