WOW!

All I have to say is WOW!

I purposely took the last few days and shut it down completely.  Other than my phone, I turned off the Internet and my laptop and even though I am completely buried in both work, personal, and blog (thanks to OM!!!) emails, it was well worth it!  I did this to celebrate Easter as I wanted my focus to be entirely on God and family.  I suggest all of you try this just once (perhaps once a year?).  It does not have to be for religious purposes, rather, it can simply be a way to clear your mind. You will be amazed at how this renews your soul and by how much your mind and fingertips will yearn to get back to the keyboard to pen your thoughts!

For me, though, it was all about celebrating and honoring our Lord’s Death and Resurrection!

easter-wallpaper-free-4

Last year, I was terribly disappointed in myself and how I approached Holy Week and vowed this year to properly honor our Lord.  All I can say is what a glorious week it was, the most important week of the year for Christians.

It started with a beautiful Palm Sunday, which I attended with my daughter.

On Wednesday, I went to the Lenten Penance Service.  I was fully prepared to simply walk in and go to Confession and see maybe ten people as per usual at weekly confessions.  I was floored when I pulled into the parking lot and saw it filled to capacity and overjoyed by the small service before confession with a reading of the Gospel.  What a way to prepare for this most important Sacrament.

On Thursday, I attended the Lord’s Supper and was overwhelmed by emotion.  Imagine being Jesus. Imagine knowing that the very next day, you were to be sent to your death.  And what did he do?  He washed the feet of his disciples.  What can we learn from this?

Good Friday.  Last year, I was severely depressed that I did not attend Church on Good Friday.  This year, I made sure to attend.  As moved as I was the night before during the Mass of the Lord’s Supper, I was completely shaken, like an earthquake through my body, during this service … brought to tears many times throughout.  I had such a sense of calm and peace afterwards (picture a glassy lake during the predawn hours unmoved by any outside elements, man, natural, or otherwise!) that, although subsided by the daunting rigors of daily life, is still with me.  I intend to carry this with me through all future relations and business dealing, even the most frustrating!

Easter Sunday was most divine, starting with a serene run by the ocean at dawn, a glorious Mass, and a celebratory dinner with my family hosted by my loving and adoring aunt.

My only desire next year is that my wife and daughter join in the beauty and joy of the entire week with me!

Praise Jesus!  He is Risen!

FBF

Leave a Reply

