The Coffee Chronicles – Home, Holiday and Home Again

Another Memorial Day come and gone.  Thank you to all those who gave their lives serving our country, defending our freedom.

It’s 5:00am, and here I sit, four days returned from my marathon of meetings and driving.  Just so you know, I started this entry when I got back, but as usual, my brain simply did not want to work.  For whatever reason, I cannot write anything at night, so I have stopped trying!

The delay was made even further because the Internet has not been working.  Now, you might say (as would I) “couldn’t you get to a Starbucks or something like that where the Internet is plentiful?”  Yes, that is true, but I actually took the opportunity to enjoy being disconnected.  What a liberating experience it was to be free from e-mails and online responsibilities (as I call them)!  I know it’s hard but I suggest you try it some time even if only for a day.

Back to a recap of the final leg of my tour up north: the drive back could be described as hellacious, but, to be honest, that is a complete understatement.  I sat in bumper-to-bumper traffic for damn near 3 ½ hours.  Brutal!  Check it out:

photo             This image does not really show how bad it was because at this point, the traffic had lightened up a little.  The result, a drive that should have taken five hours ended up taking seven and a half.  That said, it gave me time to reflect on the last few days.

Things are going well, but the constant feeling that there is something else better or some other future that I am supposed to be living remains.  The looming sense that I am meant for something else has been with me a while, but, for whatever reason, I am confident that that something else is real close.

With respect to the meetings we had, I came to realize that although my boss’ delivery is different than mine, we would have both covered the same information.  Certainly his abilities to discuss certain topics are different than mine, but the bottom line is that I could have handled these meetings without him.  In short, my confidence is higher now than it was before the trip, which is usually not the case.

Moreover, there is a fundamental change coming for me.  I am sensing the greater purpose of my life and have resolved every day to work harder and harder towards that goal.

This edition of The Coffee Chronicles has come to a close, but there are more to come in the very near future.

Good Day and God Bless!

Leave a Reply

